Tripuri Crisis of Congress (1939) MCQ Set-1

1. Who of the following presided over the Haripura Session of the Indian National Congress?

(A) C.R. Das
(B) J.B. Kriplani
(C) S.C. Bose
(D) J.L. Nehru

Answer (C) S.C. Bose

[Andhra Pradesh PSC (Pre) 2017 UPPCS (Mains) 2006]

2. ‘Haripura’ where annual session of Indian National Congress was held under the Presidentship of Subhash Chandra Bose in 1938 is situated in the State of

(A) Gujarat
(B) Madhya Pradesh
(C) Maharashtra
(D) Rajasthan

Answer (A) Gujarat

[UPPCS (Pre) 2000]

3. The object of the Butler Committee of 1927 was to

(A) Define the jurisdiction of the Central and Provincial Governments
(B) Define the powers of the Secretary of State for India
(C) Impose censorship on national press
(D) Improve the relationship between the Government of India and the Indian States

Answer (D) Improve the relationship between the Government of India and the Indian States

[IAS (Pre) 2017]

4. Who was elected the President of Indian National Congress in 1938?

(A) Abul Kalam Azad
(B) Subhash Chandra Bose
(C) Pattabhi Sitaramaiya
(D) J.B. Kriplani

Answer (B) Subhash Chandra Bose

[41st BPSC (Pre) 1996]

5. Subhash Chandra Bose was chosen President of Congress in Tripuri Session of Indian National Congress in the year 1939. Where is Tripuri?

(A) Calcutta
(B) Pune
(C) Jabalpur
(D) Ahmedabad

Answer (C) Jabalpur

[Karnataka PSC (Pre) 2018 MPPCS (Pre) 2000]

6. In which of the following session of Indian National Congress, Subhash Chandra Bose was elected as President for the second time?

(A) Haripura Session
(B) Madras Session
(C) Tripuri Session
(D) Calcutta Session

Answer (C) Tripuri Session

[Assam PSC (Pre) 2019 UPPCS (Mains) 2011]

7. Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose became the President of Indian National Congress by defeating which leader?

(A) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
(B) J.L. Nehru
(C) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(D) P. Sitaramaiya

Answer (D) P. Sitaramaiya

[Chhattisgarh PCS (Pre) 2013]

8. Subhash Chandra Bose defeated Pattabhi Sitaramaiya and became President of Indian National Congress at

(A) Haripura Session, 1938
(B) Tripuri Session, 1939
(C) Lahore Session, 1929
(D) Madras Session, 1927

Answer (B) Tripuri Session, 1939

[UP UDA/LDA (Pre) 2010 UPPCS (Spl) (Mains) 2004]

9. Who became the President of the Indian National Congress after the resignation of Subhash Chandra Bose?

(A) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(B) Pattabhi Sitaramaiya
(C) Rajendra Prasad
(D) Sardar Patel

Answer (C) Rajendra Prasad

[UPPCS (Pre) 2007, 1997 Uttarakhand PCS (Pre) 2005]

10. The whole dispute between Subhash Chandra Bose and right wing, after the Tripuri Session of Congress, centred round to the question of

(A) Formation of Congress Working Committee
(B) Policy towards princely States
(C) Attitude towards Central Government
(D) Double membership of Congress Socialist Party members

Answer (A) Formation of Congress Working Committee

[Haryana PSC (Pre) 2016 RAS/RTS (Pre) 2008]

11. Which Indian nationalist leader looked upon a war between Germany and Britain as a godsent opportunity which would enable Indians to exploit the situation to their advantage?

(A) C. Rajagopalachari
(B) M.A. Jinnah
(C) Subhash Chandra Bose
(D) Jawaharlal Nehru

Answer (C) Subhash Chandra Bose

[IAS (Pre) 1999]