Partition of India and Independence MCQ Set-2

21. Who among the following had seconded the resolution on the partition in the meeting of All India Congress Committee held in New Delhi in 1947?

(A) Govind Ballabh Pant
(B) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
(C) J.B. Kripalani
(D) Abul Kalam Azad

Answer (D) Abul Kalam Azad

[UPPCS (Pre) 2014]

22. Who of the following took the passing of a resolution on the partition in the meeting of the Congress Committee(1947) as a ‘Surrender of Nationalism in favour of Communalism’?

(A) Dr. Kitchlew
(B) Purushottam Das Tandon
(C) Jawaharlal Nehru
(D) G.B. Pant

Answer (A) Dr. Kitchlew

[UPPCS (Pre) 2014]

23. Who presided over the Delhi Session of Indian National Congress in 1947?

(A) J.B. Kripalani
(B) Rajendra Prasad
(C) Abul Kalam Azad
(D) Jawaharlal Nehru

Answer (A) J.B. Kripalani

[47th BPSC (Pre) 2005]

24. In the meeting of All India Committee on 14 June, 1947; who among voted against the partition of India?

(A) Abul Kalam Azad
(B) Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan
(C) Sardar Patel
(D) Govind Ballabh Pant

Answer (B) Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan

[UPPCS (Pre) 2002]

25. Which of the following assumed sovereign power at midnight of 14/15 August, 1947 provisionally?

(A) Central Legislative Assembly
(B) Constituent Assembly
(C) Interim Government
(D) Chamber of Princes

Answer (B) Constituent Assembly

[MPPCS (Pre) 2010]

26. Who sang ‘Hindustan Hamara’ of Iqbal and ‘Jan-gan-man’ in the Central Assembly at midnight of 14/15 August, 1947?

(A) Rameshwari Nehru
(B) Meera Ben
(C) Sucheta Kriplani
(D) M.S. Subbulakshmi

Answer (D) M.S. Subbulakshmi

[UPPCS (Pre) 2010]

27. Who appointed the first Prime Minister of India?

(A) Governor General
(B) British Emperor
(C) Mahatma Gandhi
(D) Viceroy

Answer (A) Governor General

[Punjab PSC (Pre) 2019 UPPCS (Pre) 2001]

28. Who was the first Governor General of Independent India?

(A) C. Rajagopalachari
(B) Warren Hastings
(C) Lord Dalhousie
(D) Lord Mountbatten

Answer (D) Lord Mountbatten

[MPPCS (Pre) 2006 UPPCS (Mains) 2014]

29. Who was the last Governor-General of Independent India?

(A) C. Rajagopalachari
(B) Rajendra Prasad
(C) Lord Mountbatten
(D) Lord Canning

Answer (A) C. Rajagopalachari

[MPPCS (Pre) 2010, 1998 Uttarakhand PCS (Mains) 2006 46th BPSC (Pre) 2004]

30. The first Indian to hold office as Governor-General of independent India was

(A) Rajagopalachari
(B) Surinder Nath
(C) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(D) B.R. Ambedkar

Answer (A) Rajagopalachari

[Maharashtra PSC (Pre) 2018 53rd to 55th BPSC (Pre) 2011]

31. The first and last Indian GovernorGeneral of India was

(A) R.M. Gopala
(B) Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
(C) C. Rajagopalachari
(D) Ramanuja Acharya

Answer (C) C. Rajagopalachari

[Uttarakhand UDA/LDA (Pre) 2007 UP UDA/LDA (Pre) 2006]

32. Last Viceroy of India was

(A) Lord Wavell
(B) Lord Mountbatten
(C) Lord Linlithgow
(D) Achinlake

Answer (B) Lord Mountbatten

[MPPCS (Pre) 2010 Uttarakhand PCS (Mains) 2006]

33. Who among the following was the first Law Minister of India?

(A) M.C. Sitalwad
(B) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
(C) Kailash Nath Katju
(D) Rafi Ahmad Kidwai

Answer (B) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

[UPPCS (Mains) 2012 Uttarakhand PCS (Mains) 2006]

34. Which one of the following is the correct sequence of persons who occupied the office of the President of India right from beginning?

(A) C. Rajagopalachari, Rajendra Prasad, Zakir Hussain, V.V. Giri
(B) Rajendra Prasad, S. Radhakrishnan, V.V. Giri, Zakir Hussain
(C) C. Rajagopalachari, Rajendra Prasad, S. Radhakrishnan, Fakhruddin Ali Ahmad
(D) Rajendra Prasad, S. Radhakrishnan, Zakir Hussain, V.V. Giri

Answer (D) Rajendra Prasad, S. Radhakrishnan, Zakir Hussain, V.V. Giri

[UPPCS (Pre) 2009]

35. Who represented the Indian National Congress in the Partition Council headed by Lord Mountbatten?

1. Abul Kalam Azad
2. Jawaharlal Nehru
3. Sardar Patel
4. Rajendra Prasad

Select the correct answer from the code given below.
(A) 1 and 2
(B) 2 and 3
(C) 3 and 4
(D) 1 and 4

Answer (B) 2 and 3

[UPPCS (Mains) 2009]

36. The President of Indian National Congress at the time of partition of India was

(A) C. Rajagopalachari
(B) J.B. Kripalani
(C) Jawaharlal Nehru
(D) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad

Answer (B) J.B. Kripalani

[IAS (Pre) 2002]

37. Who among the following was the President of the Indian National Congress on 15th August, 1947?

(A) Rajendra Prasad
(B) Jawaharlal Nehru
(C) J.B. Kripalani
(D) Sardar Patel

Answer (C) J.B. Kripalani

[UPPCS (Mains) 2015]

38. Who presided over the 1946 Session of the Indian National Congress held at Meerut?

(A) J.B. Kripalani
(B) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(C) Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(D) B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya

Answer (A) J.B. Kripalani

[UP UDA/LDA (Spl) (Pre) 2010]

39. Who was the Congress President at the time of transfer of power in 1947 to India by the British?

(A) Jawaharlal Nehru
(B) Rajendra Prasad
(C) Abul Kalam Azad
(D) J.B. Kripalani

Answer (D) J.B. Kripalani

[46th BPSC (Pre) 2003]

40. In August 1947, who of the following leaders did not participate anywhere in Independence Day celebrations?

(A) Jawaharlal Nehru
(B) Mahatma Gandhi
(C) Vallabhbhai Patel
(D) Rajendra Prasad

Answer (B) Mahatma Gandhi

[UPPCS (Mains) 2016]