The Indian Princely States MCQ Set-1

1. Who among the following was the President of the All India States Peoples Conference in 1939?

(A) Jai Prakash Narayan
(B) Jawaharlal Nehru
(C) Sheikh Abdullah
(D) Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

Answer (B) Jawaharlal Nehru

[IAS (Pre) 2001]

2. Most of the integration of princely states in the Union of India had taken place in which year?

(A) 1948
(B) 1947
(C) 1950
(D) 1961

Answer (B) 1947

[UPPCS (Pre) 1990]

3. The purpose of Butler Committee, 1927

(A) Modernization of Indian Army
(B) Innovative modernization of Indian Agriculture
(C) Implementation of Sensor over National Newspapers
(D) Improvement of relationships between Indian Provinces and the Crown

Answer (D) Improvement of relationships between Indian Provinces and the Crown

[46th BPSC (Pre) 2004]

4. All India State Peoples Conference was set up

(A) in 1924
(B) in 1926
(C) in 1927
(D) in 1929

Answer (C) in 1927

[40th BPSC (Pre) 1995]

5. Integration of States was done under the leadership of

(A) Maulana Azad
(B) Govind Ballabh Pant
(C) B.R. Ambedkar
(D) Sardar Patel

Answer (D) Sardar Patel

[Uttarakhand PCS (Mains) 2002]

6. Which three Indian States delayed accession to India even after other princely states had joined India?

(A) Junagarh, Mysore, Jammu and Kashmir
(B) Junagarh, Hyderabad, Jammu and Kashmir
(C) Udaipur, Kapurthala, Jammu and Kashmir
(D) Hyderabad, Udaipur, Travancore

Answer (B) Junagarh, Hyderabad, Jammu and Kashmir

[UPPCS (Pre) 1998]

7. Jammu and Kashmir became an integral part of India on

(A) 26th October, 1948
(B) 26th November, 1948
(C) 26th October, 1947
(D) None of the above

Answer (C) 26th October, 1947

[MPPCS (Pre) 2008]

8. At the time of Partition of India, which one of the following provinces of British India came forward with a plan for a United and Independent existence?

(A) Punjab
(B) Assam
(C) Bengal
(D) Bihar

Answer (A) Punjab

[IAS (Pre) 2000]

9. Which one of the following native States was a party to the ‘StandStill’ Agreement?

(A) Hyderabad
(B) Jammu and Kashmir
(C) Junagarh
(D) Mysore

Answer (A) Hyderabad

[UPPCS (Pre) 1997]