Congress – Banaras, Calcutta and Surat Session MCQ Set-1

1. Who presided over the Banaras Session of the Indian National Congress in 1905?

(A) Surendra Nath Banerjee
(B) Feroz Shah Mehta
(C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(D) Dinshaw Wacha

Answer (C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

[UPPCS (Pre) 1999]

2. In which year Gopal Krishna Gokhale founded ‘Servants of India Society’?

(A) 1902
(B) 1903
(C) 1904
(D) 1905

Answer (D) 1905

[UPPCS (Pre) 2017]

3. “A graduate at 18, professor and associate editor of the Sudharak at 20, Secretary of the Sarvajanik Sabha and of the Provincial Conference at 25, Secretary of the National Congress at 29, leading witness before an important Royal Commission at 31, Provincial legislator at 34, Imperial legislator at 36, President of the Indian National Congress at 39, a patriot whom Mahatma Gandhi himself regarded as his master”.This is how a biographer describes

(A) Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya
(B) Mahadev Govind Ranade
(C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(D) Bal Gangadhar Tilak

Answer (C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale

[IAS (Pre) 1997]

4. Gopal Krishna Gokhale presided over the session of Congress in

(A) 1902
(B) 1905
(C) 1906
(D) 1909

Answer (B) 1905

[UP Lower Sub. (Pre) 2004, 03]

5. Which of the following leaders presided over the Congress Session at Calcutta in 1906?

(A) B.G. Tilak
(B) G.K. Gokhale
(C) Aurobindo Ghosh
(D) Dadabhai Naoroji

Answer (D) Dadabhai Naoroji

[44th BPSC (Pre) 2000]

6. Congress passed the ‘Swaraj’ resolution in the year 1905. The purpose of the resolution was

(A) right to make a constitution for themselves but it was not done
(B) to secure self-rule
(C) responsible Government
(D) self-Government

Answer (B) to secure self-rule

[53rd to 55th BPSC (Pre) 2011]

7. Swaraj as a national demand was first made by

(A) B.G. Tilak
(B) C.R. Das
(C) Dadabhai Naoroji
(D) Mahatma Gandhi

Answer (C) Dadabhai Naoroji

[Uttarakhand PCS (Pre) 2002]

8. In which of the following sessions of Indian National Congress, the word ‘Swaraj’ was uttered for the first time?

(A) Banaras Session, 1905
(B) Calcutta Session, 1906
(C) Surat Session, 1907
(D) None of the above

Answer (B) Calcutta Session, 1906

[UPPCS (Pre) 2014]

9. The first leader to use the word ‘Swaraj’ was

(A) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(B) Lala Lajpat Rai
(C) Dayanand Saraswati
(D) Mahatma Gandhi

Answer (C) Dayanand Saraswati

[UPRO/ARO (Mains) 2013]

10. Dadabhai Naoroji was formally known as

(A) Punjab Kesari
(B) Gujarat Ratna
(C) Guru Dev
(D) Grand Old Man of India

Answer (D) Grand Old Man of India

[UPPCS (Pre) 1991]

11. First Indian elected to the British House of Commons was Dadabhai Naoroji who contested on the ticket of

(A) Liberal Party
(B) Labour Party
(C) Conservative Party
(D) Communist Party

Answer (A) Liberal Party

[60th to 62nd BPSC (Pre) 2016]

12. Who was called the ‘Grand Old Man of India’?

(A) Dadabhai Naoroji
(B) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(C) Ramesh Chandra Banerjee
(D) Sir Syed Ahmad Khan

Answer (A) Dadabhai Naoroji

[Uttarakhand UDA/LDA (Pre) 2007]

13. Who among the following is known by the title of ‘The Grand Old Man’?

(A) Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan
(B) W.C. Banerjee
(C) Dadabhai Naoroji
(D) Motilal Nehru

Answer (C) Dadabhai Naoroji

[UPRO/ARO (Pre) 2014]

14. Which one of the following statements is not correct about Dadabhai Naoroji?

(A) He wrote a book ‘Poverty and Un-British Rule in India’
(B) He worked as a Professor of Gujarati in the University College, London
(C) He laid the foundation of woman’s education in Bombay
(D) He was elected as a member of British Parliament on the ticket of the Conservative Party

Answer (D) He was elected as a member of British Parliament on the ticket of the Conservative Party

[UP Lower Sub. (Pre) 2008]

15. Which one of the following statements is not correct about Dadabhai Naoroji?

(A) He was the first Indian to be appointed as Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Elphinstone College, Bombay
(B) He was elected as the member of British Parliament in 1892
(C) He started a Gujarati Journal, ‘Rast Goftar’
(D) For four times he had presided over the Indian National Congress

Answer (D) For four times he had presided over the Indian National Congress

[UPPCS (Pre) 2014]

16. Who was first Indian to be elected to the British Parliament?

(A) Ras Bihari Bose
(B) Surendra Nath Banerjee
(C) Dadabhai Naoroji
(D) Vithalbhai Patel

Answer (C) Dadabhai Naoroji

[UPPCS (Pre) 1992]

17. At which session was the Indian National Congress(INC) divided into two groups – ‘Naram Dal’ and ‘Garam Dal’?

(A) Bombay
(B) Surat
(C) Allahabad
(D) Lahore

Answer (B) Surat

[UPPCS (Pre) 1990]

18. Where did the Indian Congress got divided into two wings moderates and extremists?

(A) Surat Session, 1907
(B) Lahore Session, 1909
(C) Calcutta Session, 1911
(D) Karachi Session, 1913

Answer (A) Surat Session, 1907

[Andhra Pradesh PSC (Pre) 2019 UPPCS (Mains) 2012]

19. The President of the Surat Session of Indian National Congress(1907) was

(A) Dadabhai Naoroji
(B) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(C) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(D) R.B. Ghosh

Answer (D) R.B. Ghosh

[UP UDA/LDA (Pre) 2010 UPPCS (Mains) 2007]

20. Four resolutions were passed at the famous Calcutta Session of Indian National Congress in 1906. The question of either retention or rejection of these four resolutions became the cause of a split in Congress at the next Congress Session held in Surat in 1907. Which one of the following was not one of those resolutions?

(A) Annulment of partition of Bengal
(B) Boycott
(C) National education
(D) Swadeshi

Answer (A) Annulment of partition of Bengal

[IAS (Pre) 2010]